10 Tips: Transitioning Your Child to Daycare

Your little one is just about to start daycare – you’ve found just the right place and while it will be tough to say “bye-bye!” every day, you’re feeling ready to get back to work and finally have a moment to finish the dishes that have been piling up, or maybe even take a sweet moment to yourself.

But how do you transition your child from home to daycare? Taking the time to integrate your kids slowly will not only help them adjust to their new schedule and start making friends, it will ease the changes you will experience as a parent.

Here are a few tips to help things go a little more smoothly as your child adjusts to life at daycare:

1. Visit the daycare together a few times first

There’s no need to dive head first off the deep end! Start by introducing your little one to the place where they will spend their weekdays. Schedule a few visits with the daycare – you can introduce your little one to their future educators and even some of the kids.

2. Tell your child what to expect

Take the time to explain what their daily routine will be like, including types of activities, naptime and meals, and when you will drop them off or pick them up.  Make sure you do this every day!

3. Transition gradually, a little longer every time

Most daycares will have a transition plan for new babies: first, you and your child will spend a few hours a morning together at the daycare for about a week.  The next week, your child will spend that same amount of time alone.  Finally, the third week, they should be going full-time.  It is rare that a child will need more than a month to adjust.

4. Say goodbye quickly and with confidence

Maybe that’s giving them a quick hug, a kiss or a sweet wave, but there’s no need to linger! The educators at your daycare see new kids who miss their parents on a regular basis and have lots of experience helping them through.

5. Adjust your schedule at home for naps and lunch time

Try to do this before your child starts daycare – if your home schedule is similar to the daycare’s, it will be much easier for your child to adapt.  This is especially important if your child is at daycare part-time.

6. Consistency is key

Whatever you do, try to keep you schedule as consistent as possible, especially when it comes to bedtime routines!

7. Clear your calendar for when you pick-up your child, for open-ended play

Much like adults are often tired after a day at work, your child will be tired after a day at daycare!  Try not to schedule any activities immediately after picking them up, and instead give them the option of going straight home, stopping at the park, or taking a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood. If you do go home, offer them simple activities with no definitive end point, like drawing or playing with Legos.

8. Take time to talk to the care provider(s) and develop a good relationship

Get to know the educators at your daycare – they are an important resource and can tell you lots about what is going on during the day and how your child is adjusting. When you pick-up your child from daycare, ask how things went, along with the names of their new friends and adults in charge. Then, when you get home you’ll be ready to talk about everything with your little one.

9. Befriend other parents at the daycare and make playdates

This can be beneficial for both you and your child! This is a way to help your kids develop friendships with each other, and for you to meet other adults who are experiencing similar challenges as you. You can talk about issues you are having with each other, and help each other problem solve as you go.

10. Teach your child about sharing, taking turns, compromise, collaboration

It can be a tricky transition for your child to go from being alone at home to being in a group of 6-10 children, especially with lots of cool new toys.  Start by bringing them to play groups in the neighborhood, and model how to share toys when you play with them at home. Encourage your child to think about how others feel and demonstrate coping strategies for negative emotions.

Daycare Subsidies

The daycare subsidy system is complex and not always easy to understand. Depending on your income and immigration status daycare can cost anywhere between 8.25$ and 40$ per day. Take a look below to find out whether you are eligible and how much daycare costs!

Am I Eligible for a Subsidy?

How Much Does Daycare Cost?

For a breakdown of daycare cost based on income, visit the Famille Québec website. 

Which Daycares are Subsidized?

Centres de la petite enfance (CPEs) are not the only daycares with subsidized care available! Some private daycares and home daycares also have subsidized care. To find out which ones offer this service, visit https://www.laplace0-5.com/geosearch.

Not sure what the difference is between types of daycare? Take a look at our blog post!

Changes are Coming

The subsidy system is changing over the next 4 years. For more information please visit the Famille Québec website. You can also get in touch with our Family Liaison, who would be happy to answer your questions and help navigate this important system. 

Discover how to find the right daycare for your child... in Cantonese or Arabic!

This spring, we met with 6 incredible Montreal moms – these multilingual mothers translated our first naptime session about daycare registration into several languages: Cantonese, Mandarin, Korean, Arabic, Spanish and Bangla.

We have been editing the videos over the past couple of months and our first videos are finally online! Take a look and come back soon – we’ll be adding more translations over the coming weeks.

Discover the videos!

Cantonese

Korean

Mandarin

Spanish

How to find the right daycare for your child

It's never too early to register your child!

It can take a while to hear back from available daycares – the earlier you put your child on the waiting list the better. You can even start the process before your child is born!

Take a look at the video and infographics below to find out more about registration and to learn about the different types of daycare as well as considerations on how to choose the right place for your child.

If you’re not ready or able to send your child to daycare on a regular basis, there is a program at the YWCA in downtown Montreal that offers 3 hours of care twice a week for children 16 months – 5 years. Call 514-866-9941×209 for more information or visit their website

10 astuces : soutenir votre enfant en garderie

Votre enfant est sur le point de faire son entrée en garderie – vous avez trouvé l’endroit parfait et bien que ce sera difficile de dire “au revoir!” tous les jours, vous êtes prêt-e-s à retourner au travail et enfin avoir du temps pour terminer la vaisselle qui s’accumule, ou peut-être même prendre un moment tranquille pour vous-même.

Mais comment transitionner votre enfant de la maison à la garderie? Prendre le temps pour habituer progressivement vos enfants leur permettra non seulement de s’ajuster à leur nouvel horaire et se faire des nouveaux amis, mais cela facilitera aussi les changements que vous allez éprouver en tant que parent.

Voici quelques astuces pour que cela se passe plus en douceur pendant que votre enfant s’habitue à la vie en garderie :

1. Visitez la garderie ensemble plusieurs fois

Vous n’êtes pas obligé-e de vous précipiter! Commencez par familiariser votre enfant avec l’endroit où il/elle passera ses journées. Arrangez quelques visites avec la garderie – vous pouvez présenter votre enfant à son éducateur-trice et même à quelques-uns de ses  futurs  camarades.

2. Expliquez à votre enfant ce qu’il va se passer

Prenez le temps d’expliquer en quoi consistera la routine quotidienne, incluant les types d’activités, le temps de la sieste et des repas, et à quel moment vous les emmènerez ou viendrez les chercher. Soyez sûr-e de le faire chaque jour!

3. Transitionnez graduellement, un peu plus longtemps à chaque fois

La plupart des garderies ont des politiques d’intégration pour les nouveaux enfants : au début, vous et votre enfant passerez quelques heures le matin ensemble à la garderie pendant environ une semaine. La semaine suivante, votre enfant y passera le même temps sans vous. Finalement, la troisième semaine, il/elle devrait y aller à temps plein. Il est rare qu’un enfant ait besoin de plus d’un mois pour s’habituer.

4. Dites au revoir rapidement et avec confiance

Peut-être leur faire un câlin rapide, un bisou ou un signe de la main, mais ne vous attardez pas! Les éducateurs-trices de la garderie voient régulièrement des enfants auxquels leurs parents manquent et ont beaucoup d’expérience pour les aider à surmonter cette situation.

5. Ajustez votre emploi du temps à la maison pour les heures de siestes et de repas

Essayez de le faire avant que votre enfant commence la garderie – si votre emploi du temps à la maison est semblable à celui de la garderie, votre enfant pourrait s’adapter beaucoup plus facilement. Ceci est particulièrement important si votre enfant est à la garderie à temps partiel (quelques jours seulement par semaine).

6. La constance est indispensable

Peu importe ce que vous faites, essayez de conserver un emploi du temps le plus régulier possible, surtout en ce qui concerne la routine du coucher!

7. Faites place dans votre emploi du temps au moment où vous allez chercher votre enfant, pour le “jeu libre ouvert”

De la même manière que les adultes sont souvent fatigués après une journée de travail, votre enfant sera fatigué après une journée à la garderie! Essayez de ne pas planifier des activités immédiatement après l’avoir récupéré, et donnez-lui le choix de rentrer directement à la maison, de s’arrêter au parc, ou de se promener dans le quartier. Si vous retournez à la maison, offrez des activités simples sans fin déterminée comme dessiner, jouer au Legos ou à la pâte à modeler.

8. Prenez le temps de parler avec l’éducateur-trice et développez une bonne relation

Apprenez à connaître les éducateurs-trices à la garderie – ils sont une ressource importante et peuvent vous en dire beaucoup sur ce qui se passe durant la journée et comment votre enfant s’adapte. Quand vous venez chercher votre enfant à la garderie, demandez comment cela s’est passé, ainsi que les noms de ses nouveaux amis et des adultes responsables. Ensuite, de retour à la maison, vous serez prêts pour parler de tout cela avec votre enfant.

9. Liez-vous avec d’autres parents et organisez des moments de jeu en dehors de la garderie

Ceci peut être bénéfique pour vous et votre enfant! C’est une façon d’aider vos enfants à développer leurs amitiés, et de vous permettre de rencontrer d’autres adultes qui éprouvent les mêmes difficultés que vous. Vous pouvez parler de vos problèmes respectifs et vous aider à les résoudre ensemble.

10. Parlez à votre enfant des notions de partage, d’attendre son tour, de compromis, de collaboration

La transition entre être seul à la maison et se retrouver dans un groupe de 6-10 enfants peut être difficile pour votre enfant, surtout si vous considérez tous les supers nouveaux jouets. Commencez par l’emmener s’amuser dans des groupes de jeu du quartier, et montrez comment partager quand vous jouez à la maison. Encouragez votre enfant à penser comment les autres se sentent et montrez-lui des façons de gérer ses émotions négatives.

Comment trouvez un service de garde

Ce n'est jamais trop tôt d'inscrire votre enfant!

Cela peut prendre du temps pour avoir une offre de disponibilité dans un garderie – mettre votre enfant sur la liste d’attente dès que possible. Vous pouvez même commencer le processus avant la naissance de votre enfant!

Pour apprendre davantage sur les processus d’inscription dans un garderie, les différents types de services de garde, et comment choisir la bonne garderie pour vous et votre enfant, jetez un coup d’œil sur la vidéo et infographies ci-bas.

Si vous n’êtes pas encore prêt à envoyer votre enfant à une service de garde à temps plein, le Y des femmes offre une halte-garderie gratuit, 2 fois semaine, 3 heures à la fois pour les enfants de 16 mois à 5 ans. Appelez le 514-866-9941×209 ou visitez le site web pour en savoir plus.

L'allocation pour frais de garde

Le system d’allocation pour frais de garde est complexe et n’est pas très facile à comprendre. Dépendant de votre revenu et statut d’immigration, les services de garde coûteraient entre 8,25$ et 40$ par jour. Regardez les images ci-bas d’en savoir plus sur les critères d’admissibilité de l’allocation et les frais de garderie!

Critères d'admissibilité

Les frais de garderie

Visitez site web Famille Québec de savoir le coût de garderie vs. votre revenu familial. 

Quels garderies sont subventionnées?

Les Centres de la petite enfance (CPE) ne sont pas les seules garderies subventionnées! Plusieurs garderies privées, et éducatives sont aussi subventionnées. Découvrer quels lieux offrent les subventions sur le site web de La Place 0-5: https://www.laplace0-5.com/geosearch.

Vous ne savez pas le différence entre les différents types de garderies? Lisez notre blogue post!

Changements à venir

Le système d’allocation va changer dans les 4 prochaines années. Pour plus de renseignements, visitez le site web Famille Québec.

N’hésitez pas à contacter notre Agente de milieu – elle serait contente de répondre à vos questions.